Awards, Honors, and Distinguished Service



Awarding Body

  • Distinguished Visiting Professor under the “Excellence Initiative” Research University Program (ID-UB) at Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań (Poland)
Minister of Science and Higher Education (Poland)
  • Invited as expert witness before the House of Commons of Canada’s Standing Committee on Science and Research – 44th Parliament, 1st Session (17 Oct. 2022) – to testify on “Research and Scientific Publication in French” (Link)
The House of Commons, The Parliament of Canada
  • Elected Fellow of the African Academy of Sciences (FAAS)
African Academy of Sciences, HQ.: Nairobi, Kenya
  • Elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (FAAAS)
American Association for the Advancement of Science, USA
2021 – 2022
  • Science Atlantic “Annual Speaker Tour of Notable Scientists” of the Year (2021-2022)
Co-sponsored by Science Atlantic and the Chemical Institute of Canada (CIC)
  • Elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology (FRSB)
 Royal Society of Biology
 2018 – 2022
  • Chair (2021-2022); Member(2019-2021); Invited member (2018):  Canada Research Chairs (CRC) Program’s Interdisciplinary  Adjudication Committee (IAC)
Canadian Tri-Agency (CIHR, NSERC, SSHRC)
 2021 – 2024
  • Director of Accreditation & Member of Board of Directors of the Canadian Society for Chemistry
 Canadian Society of Chemistry, The Chemical Institute of Canada
  • Ambassador Award (For bringing Sagamore 2018 Conference to Halifax)
City of Halifax – Discover Halifax, Nova Scotia
  • Elected Fellow of Royal Society of Arts (FRSA)
Royal Society of Arts
2018 – 2020
  • Member: Selection Committee (1604) – Research Tools and Instruments (RTI) Grants Program competition for the Chemistry
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC)
2017 – 2020
  • Member: Commission on Quantum Crystallography of the IUCr
 International Union of Crystallography (IUCr)
  • Award for Research Excellence of 2017
Mount Saint Vincent University
  • Elected Fellow of the Institute of Physics (FInstP)
The Institute of Physics (IOP)
  • Lady Davis Fellow & L. D. Visiting Professor at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem ($7,000)
Lady Davis Fellowship Trust
  • National Acfas-NSERC Prize “La preuve par l’image” ($2,000)
Association francophone pour le savoir (Acfas), Québec – Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSRC)
  • Elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC)
Royal Society of Chemistry
  • MGMS Silver Jubilee Prize Laureate
Molecular Graphics and Molecular Simulation Society (MGMS)
  • Winner of the John Charles Polanyi Prize in Chemistry
Council of Ontario Universities
2004­­­­ – 2006
  • Awardee of the Izaak Walton Killam Fellowship in Chemistry
The Killam Trusts
2005, 2003
  • BioVision-Next Science Fellow “Bio-Leaders of Tomorrow”
American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) & The World Life Science Forum
2003 – 2004
  • Chemistry Teaching Fellowship Award Recipient
University of Toronto
2004, 2001
  • IUCr Young Scientist Travel Award Recipient
International Union of Crystallography (IUCr)
  • Dept. of Chemistry Nominee for the University Distinguished Thesis Award
McMaster University
  • Finalist: Schrödinger Prize
American Chemical Society (ACS) and the Chemical Computing Group (CCG), Inc.
  • Finalist: “Dean of Science Award for Academic Excellence in Graduate Work”
McMaster University
  • Centennial Scholar
McMaster University